Stowe Prize 2024 Registration & Sponsorship


Katharine Seymour Day House & Immanuel Congregational Church

The Harriet Beecher Stowe Center is delighted to announce Dr. Bettina L. Love as the 2024 Stowe Prize for Literary Activism winner for her book Punished for Dreaming: How School Reform Harms Black Children and How We Heal (St. Martin’s Press, 2023).

Event Schedule
5:00 – 6:00 pm | Donor Reception with Dr. Bettina L. Love* | Katharine Seymour Day House
5:30 – 6:30 pm | Social Justice Fair | Fellowship Hall, Immanuel Congregational Church
6:30 – 7:30 pm | Free Public Program | The Sanctuary, Immanuel Congregational Church

*Capacity is limited to first-come, first-served and sponsor/donor commitments.

Please contact Casey Grambo, Director of Development, at CGrambo@StoweCenter.org or 860-522-9258 ext. 320, with any accessibility needs or questions.

This year, we have made the decision to reimagine the Stowe Prize events to more deeply connect with the content of the selected book and to grow the event’s fundraising impact. As a result, the Stowe Prize celebration will no longer be comprised of our Big Tent Event gala and the Public Program the following day, but rather a donor reception at the Day House immediately followed by the Public Program at the Immanuel Congregational Church. This adjustment will direct a greater percentage of charitable donations to our mission-driven programming.


We are delighted to share that the work of Dr. Love, and all our Stowe Prize winners, will now be a part of the work we do all year round. In September 2024, the Stowe Center will launch a new Stowe Prize event series that explores the topic of the selected book from September of that year until the following Stowe Prize celebration. Supporters of the 2024 Stowe Prize will be recognized as sponsors of that series in addition to the reception and public program.

Special Thanks to Our Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

Assured Guaranty
Connecticut Public
Becky Latimer & Alan Kreczko

Bronze Sponsors

Katherine D. Kane & John Kelsey
The Goodwin Hotel

Circle of Friends

A. M. Communications Solutions, Inc.
Dr. Anne S. Agee
Crosskey Architects, LLC
Anne Stanback & Charlotte Kinlock
Dr. Jeffrey Ogbar & Jeanna Grimes Ogbar
Pue, Chick, Leibowitz & Blezard, LLC