The Media Gallery

Stowe Prize | Video | Triptychs

Stowe Prize Conversation #2


Part of Stowe Prize 2022

The 2022 Stowe Prize was awarded to Dr. Clint Smith on June 2, 2022 for his New York Times bestselling book, How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America (Little, Brown and Company, 2021).

Related Library Items

Stowe Prize Conversation #1, Dred & Hope: Original Poetry Reading


Dr. Clint Smith has received numerous awards and honors, including fellowships from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Emerson Collective, the Art for Justice Fund, and Cave Canem. His essays, poems, and scholarly articles have been published in The New Yorker, The New Republic, and The Paris Review, among others. He is a 2014 National Poetry Slam champion and a 2017 recipient of the Jerome J. Shestack Prize for the American Poetry Review. He received his B.A. from Davidson College and his Ph.D. from Harvard University. He is host of the YouTube series Crash Course Black American History and was previously a high school English teacher.

Linda Norris is a Senior Specialist in Methodology and Practice at the International Coalition of Sites of Conscience with a focus on creative practice. As co-author of Creativity in Museum Practice, Norris facilitates conversation about the ways creativity can transform museums, shape more compelling narratives, and create deeper, more inclusive community connections. In 2014, she was instrumental in helping the Stowe Center revise its interpretation of the Stowe House to better inspire visitor commitment to social justice and positive change.