Stowe Prize 2022

Join us! The Stowe Center will recognize 2022 Stowe Prize winner Dr. Clint Smith and his book, How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America (Little, Brown and Company, 2021), a deeply researched and transporting exploration of the legacy of slavery and its imprint on centuries of American history.


**Due to inclement weather, Stowe Prize Part II will be available as a virtual event ONLY**




Stowe Prize Part II: How the Word Is Passed at Nook Farm, Thursday, September 22- A free program available via live-stream. Featuring a conversation between Dr. Clint Smith and Linda Norris of the International Coalition of Sites of Conscience on the Stowe Center’s role and responsibility as a museum teaching race history through the narrative of Harriet Beecher Stowe’s life and writing; and Poets Respond to Dred, a live spoken word poetry performance of original poems responding to Harriet Beecher Stowe’s 1857 antislavery novel.  Curated by Versatile Poetiq, Poets Respond to Dred showcases the artistry of six local poets, including Frederick-Douglass Knowles II, T’Challa Williams, Tarishi “M.I.D.N.I.G.H.T.” Shuler, Aaron Jafferis, Mind.Evolution, and Patrick “Rico” Williams.  The poems will be available to stream.



The Stowe Prize was formally awarded at an evening celebration in honor of Dr. Smith on June 1. Please enjoy photos from the event, below.

Scroll down for more details



Stowe Prize 2022 Schedule

Thursday, September 22 

How the Word Is Passed at Nook Farm:
Live Stream Program & Discussion

Available anywhere

6:30-7:30 pm: Live-streamed conversation between Dr. Clint Smith & Linda Norris

7:30-8:00 pm: Q & A

8:15-9:00 pm: Dred & Hope: Poets Respond to Dred

to continue to support our mission, please donate here

Information for Registered Attendees of Stowe Prize 2022

Thank you so much for registering for Stowe Prize Part II on the grounds of the Stowe Center. Unfortunately, due to predicted inclement weather, Stowe Prize Part II will take place as an entirely VIRTUAL event. Instructions and links will be sent to all who registered for the onsite celebration, to be enjoyed at home.

About Clint Smith and How the Word Is Passed


Dr. Clint Smith is a staff writer at The Atlantic. How the Word Is Passed was a number one New York Times bestseller and was named one of the ten best books of 2021 by the New York Times Book Review. Dr. Smith’s poetry collection, Counting Descent, won the 2017 Literary Award for Best Poetry Book from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association and was a finalist for an NAACP Image Award. He has received numerous awards and honors, including fellowships from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Emerson Collective, the Art for Justice Fund, and Cave Canem.


Dr. Smith’s essays, poems, and scholarly articles have been published in The New Yorker, The New Republic, and The Paris Review, among others. He is a 2014 National Poetry Slam champion and a 2017 recipient of the Jerome J. Shestack Prize for the American Poetry Review. He received his B.A. from Davidson College and his Ph.D. from Harvard University. He is host of the YouTube series Crash Course Black American History and was previously a high school English teacher.

More About Stowe Prize

The Stowe Prize recognizes the author of a distinguished book of general adult fiction or nonfiction whose written work illuminates a critical social issue in the tradition of Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Uncle Tom’s Cabin. The winning book applies informed inquiry, is accessible and engaging to a wide audience, and promotes empathy and understanding. In making this award, the Stowe Center recognizes the value of diversity to strengthen our communities.

Author of the international best-selling novel of the 19th century, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Stowe’s words and actions remain relevant today. Stowe believed her purpose in life was to write, and her most famous work exposed the truth about the greatest injustice of her day – human slavery.

Dr. Clint Smith is the eighth recipient of the Stowe Prize, following Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn in 2011 for Half the Sky, Michelle Alexander in 2013 for The New Jim Crow, Ta-Nehisi Coates in 2015 for The Case for Reparations, Bryan Stevenson in 2017 for Just Mercy,  Matthew Desmond in 2018 for Evicted, Albert Woodfox in 2020 for Solitary, and Dr. Eddie S. Glaude Jr. for Begin Again.

Thank You

Stowe Prize 2022 Selection Committee 

Andrea Barton Reeves

Steven Bayer

Diane Cloud

Joan Hedrick (Board Member)

Jeffrey Ogbar (Board Member)

Terry Schmitt

Barbara Sicherman

Dawne Westbrook (Board Member)

Stowe Prize Part I: A Big Tent Celebration for Dr. Clint Smith

Guests with Stowe House Dr. Clint Smith with VisitorDrummer-led procession to CelebrationCenterpiece with pink flowers and candlesWoman in green at podium, smilingCelebration panorama in purple lightDr. Joan Hedrick presents Dr. Clint Smith the Stowe PrizeDr. Clint Smith with Linda NorrisDr. Clint Smith speakingLinda Norris listening to Dr. Clint SmithGuests listening in purple lightGuest listening and smilingGuests with centerpieceBoard members in animated conversationWoman smiling with centerpieces


Presenting Sponsor