fbpx

 

Beyond UNCLE TOM'S CABIN

Harriet Beecher Stowe, Frances E.W. Harper, and Harriet Jacobs with Bonnets at Dawn

October 13, 2021

 

 

Join our friends at the Elizabeth Gaskell House in Manchester, England as they welcome Bonnets at Dawn to discuss Harriet Beecher Stowe and her relationship with authors Frances E.W. Harper and Harriet Jacobs.

 

 

After the success of Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Harriet Beecher Stowe met author Elizabeth Gaskell in 1853 and in 1857 stayed at her home. During this same period, Harriet Jacobs authored Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, a narrative of her self-liberation from slavery, and Frances E. W. Harper, abolitionist, lecturer, and long-time writer, soon after became one of the first Black women to publish in the United States.

 

 

Bonnets at Dawn is a podcast about 18th, 19th, and 20th century women writers hosted by Hannah K. Chapman and Lauren Burke.

 

 

Registration is open. Tickets are approximately $5.50 (4 British pounds).

Location Virtual
Doors Open 2:00 pm EST/ 7:00 pm BST
Program 2:00-3:00 pm EST/ 7:00-8:00 PM BST
UPCOMING SALONS
Jan 27

Salons at Stowe: Telling Our Nation's Story #3

Women and Democratic Citizenship

Feb 20

Two Artists on the Creative Endeavor and Positive Social Change